top of page

Raihan Hakim

At my time at Fred Hutch, I learned specifically about ALL (Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia) regarding to a patient named Kristin. She had no options left, so she had undergone CAR-T cell therapy. Where her cells were genetically engineered to target her cancer cells, and it worked! I think trials like these goes to show how even when there is no hope left, there is a chance that there will be a miracle that will change your life forever. For Kristin, she was able to live. With this story, we went through a series of labs. One of my favorite labs of the session was CRISPR-cas9 lab. CRISPR is essentially a gene editing tool found in bacteria. This can be used for correct gene mutations, and to also shut down the gene that creates proteins that may cause an immune response. According to the NIH “The application of this technology can be used to resolve mutations and to introduce site-specific therapeutic genes in human cells so that, correcting disease-causing mutations, and alleviate disease-related symptoms” (link to article). With this tool, the future is bright because it can literally disable a gene that maybe harmful to you. Including the fight towards cancer. This past week, we did a lab using CRISPR and seeing out product on gel using Gel Electrophoresis. By using parts of the B2M sequence. Me and my lab partner used gRNA 2 & 5 and we used loading dye and our B2M product that we made a couple days back to see our DNA on agarose gel.




As you can see that we had bigger fragments of DNA because the less that the dye travels it means that we had bigger fragments of DNA. I had estimated for gRNA 5 that it would be between 298-807. And it ended up being around 1000-1100 base pairs. Which was interesting because as it smeared down, the base pairs got smaller and was met into our range of 298-807. The process can be more helpful to identify diseases, and to also assist in the analysis of PCR (polymerase chain reaction). I really do think that CRISPR’s future is bright. Although it is a recent discovery, it has tons of potential into finding breakthrough treatments not just for cancer but for other persisting diseases in the world today. Just by hearing what CRISPR can do like “gene editing” sounds very cool and advanced, and I think as we study CRISPR more, we can utilize it to find cures! Other than labs, I genuinely had such a fun time at the Hutch, I feel like I really bonded with my cohort here. And even though we were a bit loud (and sleepy) at times, explorers gave me so much more information about cancer and treatments for cancer. And I hope I will come back and again learn even more!



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page