top of page

Taylor Neil

My name is Taylor Neil, and I had the fantastic opportunity to participate in the 2022 Fred Hutch summer explorers program. During this time we had so many opportunities, with lots of interesting scientific lectures on things like the immune system, different types of cancer, and CRISPR CAS 9. As well as performing several experiments with gel electrophoresis, DNA samples, and micro pipetting. This experience gave me and 15 other students the opportunity to learn and understand how to use a lab and learn so much more about cancer and treatments than we knew before. The program gave me the chance to learn more about what I enjoy and what may be the best kind of scientific/medical career for me in the future.

(The photo above is of me and my lab partner Isabelle as well as two other students, in the lab working on our CML spot test and gel electrophoresis testing lab.)

My favorite experience was working in the lab and doing hands-on work. Most recently we did a CML lab to test what type of Chronic Myeloid Leukemia (CML) several patients had based on the results from a procedure using the gel electrophoresis machine. We compared DNA samples from patients to a DNA ladder and 3 different controls. Based on the length of the DNA sample used it determined its weight and what speed it could travel, this then translated to what control it matched up with and what type of CML the patient had. This experiment let me learn about what real-life scientists are doing in labs now, and what processes they go through when performing experiments!

(This photo shows my and my lab partners (Isabelle) results from the CML lab. Our results show that our patient #2 had the (+A) CML type cancer and all 3 other patients had the (-) control type cancer. The beginning row shows the DNA ladder that we compare our lines to.)

I loved this program. It introduced me to so many fields of science that I never even knew existed. It let me learn about what kinds of experiments happen in wet labs and how they are performed. I got to use tools and machines, and perform procedures that I would never ever get the chance to use in a high school classroom. I have had the chance to explore what it's like to actually work in a lab, and this helps me make decisions for future things I decide to do in my life. I have been given an incredible opportunity to see what is out there and what is happening in the world of science and I will be forever grateful. I have learned so much in just two weeks and I am so happy that I was given this opportunity. Thank you so much to the Fred Hutch explorers program and all the amazing people who contributed to making this such a great experience!!!

(This is a photo of my lab partner (Isabelle) and I moving patient samples (dye spot lab) from one location to other using micropipettes, in the lab.)


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page