top of page

Isabelle Thompson

My name is Isabelle Thompson and these past two weeks I have been taking part in the Fred Hutch Explorers program. Some highlights this week for me have been experimenting with DNA and using CRISPR. I found this process super interesting and inspiring, and hopefully I will continue to learn and research with these tools. We used Gel Electrophoresis to test the DNA, more specifically the weight, number of base pairs in each strand, charge etc. We colored a mix of DNA and various other ingredients and used a pipette to carefully place the liquid in the well of the gel. We also amplified and tested the patient’s B2M gene (known to increase a person’s risk of cancer if containing a mutation) to diagnose or not diagnose them with CML leukemia. This was included in the gel test. Then, we turned on the buffer chamber, placed the filter hood over the gel, and waited to see the color drift from the well.




This is the result we saw after waiting 25 minutes with the light still on. On the far left is the DNA ladder, next is PCR (polymerase chain reaction) solution, to the right is the DNA I was assigned, and to the far right is my lab partner Taylor’s DNA. As you can see, there are multiple lines (DNA strands) remaining from each substance. The lines closest to the wells are the heaviest, therefore moved less. The lines closer to the bottom were heavier and contained a negative charge- making them drift to the positive end. If the strand was heavier, it had more base pairs, making it longer and heavier.




Here is the gel tray on with the DNA ladder and samples inside.



Me waiting for the DNA to drift.

Overall, I am do grateful that I had the chance to take part in this experience. I have learned so much new information that I would have never learned in a regular science class. This program was amazing for me, as I try to figure out which path I want to take in my future. As a cancer survivor myself, I found it so interesting to research how to diagnose and look for giveaway results or genes. Thank you do much Fred Hutch for having me!


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page