top of page

Aaliyah Brown

Participating in the Fred Hutch Explorers Program has become a memorable experience. To gain knowledge and engage in discussions that were infatuating was really eye opening. Furthermore, getting to work in labs, talking with scientists, and more has created opportunities for me that I didn't know were possible. I am surrounded by students that have the same goals and drive to succeed. There is a constant reminder that by surrounding myself with like minded people we can thrive together…we can become the future.

I came in these doors feeling nervous and intimidated, but I will walk out feeling knowledgeable and confident in my skills. What I found the most fascinating was anytime we worked in the labs, specifically working with the gel electrophoresis. There was one lab where we isolated the DNA

from the Blood Spot Cards. Then we used gel electrophoresis to detect the BCR-ABL gene, a genetic mutation connected to Chronic Myeloid Leukemia. Once the lanes are loaded in the gel box, we make sure the DNA has migrated down 75% of the gel. Recording our product was interesting because not everyone had the same results. Everything inevitably blends together, creating a wonderful experiment in general.

In regards to guest speakers, I found Raabya Rossenkhan delightful. Not only did we learn about her knowledge in HIV, but her background in life. I find that very important when it comes to opening up. She allowed for a very comforting environment that made me feel safe. In addition, giving us life lessons as we go throughout our careers in science and medicine. She said that we should expect to change and that is ok and to come into life open minded.

During lunch, I was able to visit the library. As I walked throughout the rows, I felt I needed to read everything! I wanted to put all of that knowledge in my head. There is a glass case in the back with copies of first through sixth edition books. They even have a first edition of Descent of the Man by Charles Darwin.


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ความคิดเห็น


bottom of page