top of page

Sara Olmos

Fred Hutch Cancer Center


The Pathways Research Explores Program gave me the great opportunity to be able to participate in this experience at the Fred Hutch. The program allowed us to see what the amazing people that work there do and kind of an intro into what biomedical field was.


As in being in the program my goals were to find out about what science is but more into the medicine side and/or science research side. What it's like to be working at a lab and doing all of these different methods all for the purpose to treat cancer? I absolutely love science and biology, and that is something that I want to do in my future. I want to study life on earth, I want to be a biologist: however, I don't really know what kind of biologist I want to be. That is the reason why I joined this program and my goal being there at the Fred Hutch.


During the program the Pathways Research Explores Team had us do some experiments, they taught us lots of things, showed us how to use equipments and what were all of these different types of cancer treatment and the different method scientist use to learn more about cancer to be able in the future possibly find a cure to cancer.


Some of these methods that stood out to me were PCR and CRISPR. They were both things that we tried doing ourselves in the lab and it was so fascinating. All the equipment we used. I also loved pipetting. It was the funnest thing ever



I. PRC

We did the PRC experiment and what I learned about PRC is that it stands for Polymerase Chain Sequence and its purpose is to rapidly amplify many copies of a specific segment of DNA.


II. CRISPR

This Stands for Clustered Regularly Interspaced Short Palindromic Repeats which is used to edit genes


There were so many other things that amazed me and I really enjoyed doing this program and have no regrets. Everything there is really cool, the buildings are really nice, the labs are so enthralling and I definitely want to go back there someday.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page