top of page

Santiago Galeana

The Fred Hutch program brought many experience in terms of studying and meeting new people. The Fred Hutch program was a really interesting thing I have done and really made me thing on what I want to study later on in the future. We study things that I didn’t know for example things such as CAR T-cell which what is T cells that have been modified to target cancer cells and we also learned about a new technique called CRISPR which is in a short summary is a way in order to modify DNA by finding a specific code and then cuts the DNA in order for it to heal up by itself. We learned how new technology and techniques are made throughout years and each time it really helps scientists in order to find out about cells and cancers. This really amazes me because we got to talk to researchers about how many years ago they didn’t have certain technology before so it took them many years in order to find about cells but with the new machines it takes them way less time to find things out. Doing this program really was amazing and surprising because there were many things I didn’t know that went into study. For example we met people that work with fish and other things such as very tiny worms.


Fred Hutch is also a lot about meeting new people and working with them to achieve something greater. While in our 2 weeks of learning I got to meet really great people that all have different opinions, come from different backgrounds and work differently. I learned that teamwork achieves more things because everyone is putting their knowledge into something and everyone learns something that they didn’t. During the teaching and experiments we were doing I didn’t know much about what was going on, how to do a certain thing and was really confused but the good thing about this program is that you learn from other people and there’s kind people that can help and it’s a learning progress so mistakes are supposed to happen it’s what makes you learn. I’m really happy I got to experience the Fred Hutch program and really will miss it, thank you for the opportunity to learn new things and here are some photos I have about my own experience:

Us learning about different blood samples

The people I met.


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page