top of page

Rachel Kollarmalil

Over the past two weeks, I have learned so much about cancer research and cancer itself through Fred Hutch’s Pathways Research Explorers Program. Each moment at this camp has been amazing, from fostering a community with other peers to exploring new tools in the training lab. One of my favorite moments in the lab, however, was learning how to do a PCR test. The test makes tons of copies of a specific gene using TAQ polymerase and sudden changes in temperature. This test aids in finding the DNA or RNA of a pathogen which helps in the diagnosis of disorders. What interests me about PCR, however, is its application in public health. When I first heard about PCR in Explorers, what immediately came to my mind was the rtPCR test used to detect Covid-19. The fact that such a widespread test can be done by 16 year olds in a training lab was shocking. The connections that I made between the complex procedures I learned in the lab and the healthcare concepts I heard in the news showed me that what I learned in the lab at Fred Hutch can be applied in so many fields throughout medicine. As I reflect on my time in the program, this experience has not only deepened my fascination with biology but also ignited a passion for contributing to innovative solutions in the field of healthcare.

This program’s biggest benefit was its commitment to ensuring that each individual possesses a solid grasp of biological concepts and essential laboratory techniques. When we first got in the lab, I had no clue what a micropipet was, and was a little intimidated by the fact that most of my peers knew what it was and could use it properly. But Dr.G and the TA’s helped make sure that each person in our cohort knew how to use the lab equipment properly, and that we understood the larger applications of what we were learning in class. They made sure that each student understood what they were doing in the lab. In addition, the tours we got around Fred Hutch helped me learn more about what Fred Hutch does. I learned so much about Fred Hutch’s work in cancer research and beyond from each of the labs we visited. I can’t even start to tell you how amazed I was by every lab visit, every piece of equipment I learned how to use, every researcher I met, every new fact I learned about cancer research. Attending this program opened up a world of possibilities in medicine for me. Meeting biology graduate and PHD students that chose a path other than becoming a doctor helped me realize that I too could be involved in medicine without being a doctor. From looking at zebrafish embryos in the Moens Lab, to looking at wound repair in fruit flies in the Parkhurst Lab, I have made so many memories at Fred Hutch. Two weeks was definitely not enough to explore all of Fred Hutch and cancer research, but I would not give this experience up for anything. Thank you too Dr.G, the TA’s, and all the volunteers that made this experience the best possible!




0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page