top of page

Muhammad Ali

The past 2 week’s at Fred Hutch have been an experience that is irreplaceable from the lab work to the pier to pier engagement. Fred Hutch has helped me expand my knowledge on research labs and the study of cancer, and the prevention of cancer. Some of the key highlights from my experience here at the Fred Hutch explorers program were the labs, Kenson Jeans lecture on leukemia, and the Fred Hutch Thomas and Arnold campuses. One of my favorite things during this experience were the lab activities. In the labs we learned to pipette, cast electrophoresis gel, extract DNA, measure the number of pairs in each strand of DNA, and use a buffer chamber. By far my favorite lab activity was the PCR lab.


Above you can see 2 microtubes filled with our lab group's DNA(My group's tube is all the way to the right). PCR( Polymerase Chain Reaction is a method that allows scientists to make multiple copies of a particular section of DNA. This can be extremely helpful when researching because DNA is a fundamental part of life, and it would be unethical to DNA farm different species or even humans. PCR allows scientists to study and conduct more research and experiments at a more affordable rate. To perform PCR we used a template DNA that we would later clone. We then added PCR-grade water to dilute the DNA, then mixed our Mastermix(Made of taq DNA polymerase, nucleotides, and primers). We then added B2M DNA and used a centrifuge to pull the liquid to the bottom. While this lab was easy to perform it has such a big and important role in the science world. Another big inspiration to me was the lecture given by Kenson Jean. Kenson is currently a working researcher here in the Hutch. Kenson is a previous survivor of bone cancer, and isn't from the USA. Kenson gave a big lecture on how cancer functions and survives. He proceeded to show us live cancer cells under a microscope.


Under the microscope we could see how cancer cells like to lump up, and stay together. He also mentioned how cancer does not only divide uncontrollably but it also divides faster than a

normal cell. Not only was his lecture very informative but Kenson had a very inspirational story. Even though he did not come from a very promising area he still worked his way up to working here in Fred Hutch. He helped me realize that Fred Hutch doesn't care if you're different and just want people who love science. Kenson has inspired me to want to pursue a career in biology.

Finally something I really loved about Fred Hutch was the campuses. We took tours all over the place, and even the steam plant!


This picture was taken on the deck of the steam plant. The Fred Hutch environment is such a warm welcoming place. The beautiful waterfall by the entrance and the outdoor food court. The environment made it so I didn't dred coming here every morning and instead I was excited to go. This program was a very fun 2 weeks, and has really made me certain that I am going to pursue a job in medicine or research. The connections I made here also were a big help to my future. I would even consider a job here.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page