top of page

Joshua Iraola-Cortes

During my time at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center, The Pathways Explorers program allowed me to view multiple fields of science while also introducing us to many different types of lab work.


There is just so much to add, where do I start?


I applied to this program not knowing what I would get out of it. I haven’t had much science background since I’ve never been motivated to pursue a scientific career. This changed when my chemistry teacher, Daniel Rainey, made me feel like I could be a scientist, I was practically his teacher's assistant. He made me feel awesome, so when I received this application, I just went for it, and I am so glad I did.


Growing up, I didn't see people like me in leadership positions. I didn't know that I would be a part of programs like this, but now, I realize that it's up to me to be the person I Arriving for my first day at the Explorers Program

didn't see while growing up.


We did a lot of fascinating things in the lab. In the picture, we were using a micropipette. Honestly, without this program, I would never know what gel electrophoresis is, or even how to use a micropipette! This lab stood out to me because I felt like an actual scientist, being able to use the micropipette to put the dyes in the gel wells, then using the process of gel electrophoresis to make the dyes move through the gel was just incredible to watch!


Even on the first day of this program, we were allowed to make our own strawberry DNA procedure using our past knowledge and actually being able to test it out. Using my and my lab partners' thinking, we were able to create a solid lab procedure. It didn’t work, but that’s science most of the time. Regardless of results, my lab partner and I managed to keep a positive and friendly attitude while still having fun in the process.




Left: Me using a micropipette for the Dye Lab
















The one thing that stood out to me the most was all the guest speakers that gave up their time to introduce their field of science to us. One of my favorite guest speakers was Dr. Raaybya in the HIV vaccine trials division. Her whole message about finding what you want to do, no matter what anyone says you can or can’t do, was very inspiring. All these new fields of science made me want to do so much more in the world. When I first thought about cancer research, now I think about Immunology and infectious diseases.


There are so many different pathways that I didn't even consider to be at the hutch. I’d like to thank Dr.G,SEP TA’s, SEP Guest Speakers, and all of the SEP Explorers for this amazing, eye opening experience.

Touring of the Electron Microscope lab

Regina introducing us to Kristins CAR T-Cell story

BeReal of us getting our lab coats

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page