top of page

Betul Orhan

Hello, my name is Betul. Over the last two weeks, I had the incredible opportunity to take part in the Explorer’s program at Fred Hutch. These weeks have been a whirlwind of discovery, introducing me to fascinating people, guiding me through lab tours, and expanding my knowledge of cancer research. We saw different microscopes. I also got to use a micropipette for the first time! Some of the highlights of these two weeks for me have been learning more about cancer, DNA, PCR, and CRISPR. I learned the hallmarks of cancer and different types of cancer. PCR- Polymerase Chain Reaction is used to make a lot of copies of a specific gene. CRISPR (Clustered Regularly Interspaced Short Palindromic Repeats), is a precise gene editing tool that comes from nature.


We did many labs including DNA extraction from a strawberry, a micropipette lab with colors, a dye lab, PCR lab we did over a few days. I got to use the micropipette a bunch of times and take a bunch of photos. The worst part about the labs was the waiting in between the steps. I also really enjoyed seeing how each dye went different ways on the gel, and else how much the Cas9/gRNA samples we picked moved over time. I got to record it with time laps so it was easier to watch later on.

Our CRISPR lab results!


Dr. Stoddard showing us his X-ray microscope


I also enjoyed listening to the many guest speakers we had. Two of my favorites were Alicia Morales and Dr. Raaybya. Ms. Morales talked about imposter syndrome, which I had never heard before. Before Ms. Morales came, Dr. G sent us a survey to complete. The survey included statements that we rated from 1-5. Ms. Morales talked about imposter syndrome which I learned is a feeling of self-doubt or inadequacy despite evidence of competence and success. Different types include the perfectionist, superman/superwoman, the natural genius, the soloist, and the expert. After hearing about these types I have realized that I feel those types from time to time. After I calculated my score I got around 70 which meant frequent. Some of the consequences of the imposter syndrome include; instilling self-doubt, low self-esteem, impeding career growth, and affecting mental health. After learning those I decided that whenever I feel that way I will combat it by separating feelings from facts, visualizing success, and rewarding myself. I liked hearing about her experience; it made me think about my experiences and what my brain tells me. After I got home I talked to my parents about the imposter syndrome. Dr. Raaybya talked about her journey and how she got into HIV research, she never gave up, knew what she wanted, and was determined. She taught me to go for the things I love, never give up, and not be discouraged by what other people say. She talked about a Japanese concept ikigai which means a reason for being. It combines what you love, what the world needs, what you are good at, and what you can be paid for. I hope I can continue my passion for science. I learned so many things over the two weeks and I made unforgettable memories.



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page