top of page

Sofia Abow

HIV research and Broccoli Pills!

In an ideal world, my two weeks with Fred Hutch as an explorer would have been spent in person in a lab. However, logging into Zoom every day with my mentors and peers, I don’t think I’ve missed out on anything whatsoever. I never thought that doing DNA extractions at my kitchen counter could be so fun! I really enjoyed hearing from various amazing scientists during our morning and afternoon sessions and learning about the work they do as well as their personal pathways to science. I especially enjoyed Dr. Katusiime and Dr. Raabya’s presentations about their HIV research. HIV is a virus that directly impacts millions of people around the world, and yet it is extremely stigmatized. I felt really inspired by the passion and drive threaded into Dr. Katusiime’s and Dr. Raabya’s work, and I’m so glad I had the opportunity to hear from them.

Results from my group’s DNA extraction experiment- didn’t turn out as expected!

After scrolling through news stories on the Hutch site, a story titled Cancer-busting broccoli sprout pills? It’s a thing, stood out to me, and the ensuing article blew my mind. After residents in Qidong, China were developing liver cancer at concerningly high rates because of corn contaminated with aflatoxin, a cancer-causing substance, scientists began extensive research to find a way to stop the endemic. The goal was to find a way to stop the carcinogenic (cancer-causing) process of aflatoxin in its tracks. The solution presented itself in the form of one of my own personal favorite vegetables: broccoli. Researchers had previously found that when ingested, broccoli produced sulforaphane, a cancer-preventative compound. When coupled with enzymes found in the body, the sulforaphane was found to transform toxic carcinogens into a form that could be flushed right out. After further research and trials, the team of scientists developed broccoli sprout based pills that could be ingested not only to prevent cancer from contaminated corn but also from any airborne, water-borne, and food-borne carcinogens. Dr. Thomas Kensler, the individual who led the study, is a toxicologist and translational scientist at Fred Hutch. Further research is currently underway to learn more about additional potential applications for broccoli pills. This study immediately stood out to me because it reminded me of some advice Dr. Eric Nealy gave in his presentation during one of our morning sessions: to find inspiration for treatments in the things that surround us (in his case it was a roach motel).


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page