top of page

Shravan Mahesh Kumar

Can cancer be cured? That was the question I came into this internship with. What I learned was that the answer is complicated. I've been following the field of cancer research ever since I learned about my grandma's breast cancer. Now with the Pathways Explorers program at Fred Hutch, I finally get to participate in a program that intersects my interests in biology and cancer. The Hutch has provided me with so much over the past two weeks, from lectures and labs to opportunities and connections. It’s going to be difficult to fully encapsulate my amazing experience, but I’ll try my best.

It was hard to pick just a couple highlights from all the fun and exciting moments of my internship, but the experience that really stuck with me was watching the different intern presentations. I know, I know—you're probably thinking, "Wait, what? You toured labs and worked with CRISPR, and you're saying presentations were the best part?" But honestly, seeing those presentations felt like a glimpse into my future. Whether it was the SHIP presentations in a big auditorium or the small group SURP poster sessions, I could totally see myself up there one day. Watching those interns be so passionate about their work made me want to be in their shoes as soon as possible. The environment at Fred Hutch, where everyone is so engaged and passionate about what they do, really solidified this feeling for me. It’s a place that fosters that kind of drive and ambition, and it’s definitely influenced how I see my own future in research.


SURP Presentation Poster


But don’t get me wrong, the CRISPR lab was remarkable too. It was my first time working in a lab for an extended period, and it gave me a real taste of what hands-on research is like. We spent around two and a half hours in the lab, and those hours flew by as we prepared gels, mixed reagents, and ran gel electrophoresis. It was intense, but in the best way possible. Being so immersed in the process made me appreciate the hard work that goes into every experiment. It wasn’t just about following steps, it was about understanding why each step mattered and how it contributed to the bigger picture. The experience really solidified my interest in lab work and made me excited about the possibility of pursuing this kind of research in the future. The combination of the hands-on lab experience and the inspiring presentations at Fred Hutch has given me a much clearer vision of where I want to go in my career.

Now before I end this blog post I want to tell you a story. My two friends and I were wandering around the campus checking out all the different labs and equipment rooms when we ran into a scientist on the third floor of the Weintraub building. This scientist was carrying a substance that seemed to be oozing out white smoke and we asked her what it was. She immediately was engaged and interested in sharing her work and what she was doing. She even invited us to her lab to show us how immediate sublimation occurred when you drop dry ice into a beaker of water. I feel like this was the moment when I truly learned what science was all about. Science is about asking questions and sharing knowledge. This moment, even though it was small and simple, showed me what a passionate and encouraging environment the Hutch fosters. Ever since that moment I've tried my best to go out of my way to ask meaningful questions and make connections with everyone I interacted with. So, a big thanks to Ms. Nia Pachikara for showing me what it truly means to be a scientist.

Sublimation with dry ice.


                  While on the topic of thanks I would also like to give a HUGE thanks to Dr. Goode. Thank you so much for being so enthusiastic and positive, your energy is contagious, and it means so much. Also, I’m really grateful for Arjun and Elana. Thank you guys so much for being patient and encouraging throughout the whole program. I really enjoyed my time with everyone I interacted with at the Hutch and thank you all so much for making this experience a dream come true!


Me and my friends!

 

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page