top of page

Robel Araya

As part of the Explorers Pathway program, I have gained a lot of knowledge that empowers me in the biotechnology research industry. During the two week program, I have practiced how to process basic health tests using tools in the laboratory. I had the pleasure of meeting people who taught me different careers and pathways in Fred Hutch. Through the tours and class activities I was able to develop soft skills such as scientific communication, teamwork, not talking and expanded my vocabulary that will help me excel in the industry. Fred Hutch is one of the biggest cancer research centers in the USA and they study other infections and diseases on the side. In addition, they have made it more diverse, safe space for art and creativity to expand the knowledge, than when it started. 


One of my favorite  labs was with Dr.Stoddard, where me and my friends learned how technology has helped researchers grow exponentially, specifically speaking of solving different proteins meaning the shape. By the process of x-ray crystallography and electron microscopes those machines have helped researchers find out what type of cancer, produces a specific type of protein. This helps because it allows us to make a protein that binds to the shape of the cancer protein. So that we can kill it.


Another one of my favorite is the lab work when we learned how to separate and replicate DNA using the process of gel electrophoresis and PCR. This has fulfilled one of my biggest goals. Which was to put out my foot in the door and feel the energy and aspiration what it is like to work in a microbiology lab.


I also loved being in a space where the people want to grow and learn just like me.


I look forward to participating in the programs and activities Fred Hutch offers. Big Thanks to DR. GG and her TAs Arjan and Elana they have helped me grow and progress despite my weakness in the English language, they have answered all the questions I have asked them. Thank you to all the funders and people who have supported for this program to exist. 


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page