top of page

Rishi Dinesh


My name is Rishi Dinesh, and this summer I was part of the Fred Hutch Pathways Explorers  Program. This program allowed me to further my understanding of biology and cancer  through a variety of unique experiences in both lab environments and classroom settings.  

The Electron Microscope in Dr. Stoddard’s lab.


One highlight of the program was visiting Dr. Barry Stoddard’s lab and seeing the Electron  Microscope. In addition to being around expensive and advanced technology, learning  about the procedure and process of protein crystallography using the Electron Microscope  really intrigued me. I knew that scientists and researchers could see the 3D structure of  proteins, but understanding how exactly they do this was fascinating. In short, protein  crystallography is a process in which a protein is crystallized and then analyzed through a  computer using the diffraction pattern that is caused by the x-rays passing through the  crystal. This process which seems relatively simple now has evolved from centuries of  attempts to be able to fully analyze the 3D structure of proteins. Furthermore, Dr. Stoddard’s lecture about his experience and career, as well as the advancements in protein  crystallography allowed me to understand the complicated process which is simplified  using the Electron Microscope. Being able to visit his lab and learn all about his work with  the expensive equipment was a privilege and it helped me connect my understanding of  structural biology to current research being conducted at Fred Hutch.  

Another major highlight of the program was getting to work in the lab. Over the course of  the two weeks, we spent a lot of time conducting experiments, through which I was able to  hone and improve skills such as pipetting and measuring. However, of all the activities, I  found the CRISPR lab to be the most interesting and exciting.  

My lab partner, Muso, and I pipetting during the CRISPR lab.


CRISPR is a process through which scientists can edit an organism’s genome to remove,  add, or change parts of the DNA sequence. It uses an enzyme known as CAS9 which has  the ability to unravel the DNA and cut it. The process also uses gRNA (Guide RNA) which  searches for a small section of the double-stranded DNA known as a PAM sequence. The CAS9 enzyme can then follow the gRNA’s instructions accordingly to accurately cut and  edit the DNA. Besides just learning about the capabilities of CRISPR, actually being able to  simulate the process in a lab was mind-blowing. The experiment was a combination of  implementing pipetting techniques which we had been working on throughout the program,  as well as testing the CRISPR process which we had just recently learnt about. This made  the experiment all the more enjoyable for me and allowed me to appreciate the opportunity  to be in the program. 

Spending two weeks at the Hutch allowed me to learn about the field of scientific research  as well as connect with people my age to further our knowledge of biology and cancer. I am  so grateful for the opportunity to be a part of this program which helped me grow as both a  person and scientist.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page