top of page

Kobe Taylor

Updated: Sep 4, 2018

Imposter Syndrome With Hutch United


When I was in sixth grade I never raised my hand. Like many others, I knew the answer but just did not want to speak. This was because of my speech impediment that could turn a one syllable word into a word that could last for up to ten seconds. What was worse was the feeling I’d get after speaking, when I finally completed saying the word. Most people experience this feeling of inadequacy, embarrassment, or something similar at some point in their life. This feeling is extremely common in the scientific community. Being surrounded by incredibly intelligent people can be great for some, a place to converse and discuss topics. For others, at times can be threatening, and may make them feel dumb when they do not understand a concept. I have felt this many times in my life, little did I know it actually has a name. “Imposter Syndrome”, I would have never learned this to be an actual syndrome without the people at Hutch United. Founded by researchers at Fred Hutch Cancer Research Center, the people at Hutch United came to speak to my fellow Interns and I part of the Pathways Explorer Program at Fred Hutch. They went on to explain Imposter Syndrome and its five common types. They even shared their own experiences with Imposter Syndrome and how it specifically happens in minorities who are underrepresented in the scientific community. Being a minority this really impacted me, especially how I experienced this many times. Hearing successful scientist, and PhDs who struggled with this really made me feel more comfortable and almost empowered, to know I was not alone and could become as successful as these people one day. Finally, they even explained how they are still experiencing Imposter Syndrome, and the ways the counter it everyday. While I still have a lot to learn about myself before I too come up with successful ways to deal with Imposter Syndrome, I can implement some of their methods such as reminding myself of my success. I find it amazing how such a professional institution like Fred Hutch, is concerned with its people, how they feel, as well as the representation of minorities. With the low rate of minorities in the STEM field, it is great to see programs like Hutch United addressing the concern, as well as allowing my peers and I to meet and talk with minorities in the STEM community.



Hutch United getting ready to leave after speaking about Imposter Syndrome

A past Fred Hutch Intern speaking about Public Health even as a minority


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page