top of page

Jonathan Habte

Out of every activity that I participated in during this program, the DNA extraction to me was the most memorable and enjoyable. For one, this was the first lab experiment that I have done since middle school due to the lockdown so I was very excited throughout the experiment. What I thought was most interesting about the DNA extraction was how each group was given a chance to design their own procedure and test their own designs (in my past experiments I was always given a set procedure to follow). Although the DNA extraction was not something that I have had experience doing, I was able to learn a lot from it because of the fact that I was involved in the design of the procedure. In the images to the right you are able to see the protocol that me and my group came up with alongside the results that I got after following the procedure.

How do antibodies recognize SARS-CoV-2? How long does immunity last? And How do variants arise and escape the immune response? These are the questions that Scientists are trying to answer by studying how coronavirus immunity can inform better vaccines and treatments. This study will not only help scientists understand more about the coronavirus but will also help them develop proper treatments and vaccines that can help stop the current outbreak. I chose this study because I am very interested in the study of the coronavirus. For the past year COVID-19 has been infecting and killing many people world wide. Knowing this I want to keep myself up to date on any new information on COVID-19 and any potential vaccines/treatments.


Response to an article by Sabrina Richards

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page