top of page

Hung Tran

I participated in the 2024 Fred Hutch’s Explorer Program and during my two weeks I've learned many invaluable lessons and made many priceless memories with my other  Explorers. Throughout my journey with the program, I struggled with being able to fit in with  everyone and feeling like I’m underqualified compared to my counterparts. Thats when I  learned of Imposter Syndrome by Alicia Morales, she too went through the same  experiences and felt the same way that I did during my time here at Fred Hutch, and she  taught us that we are not alone, and these thoughts are common among high achieving  individuals. Alicia taught me that I deserve to be here, that the people who picked did not make a mistake, thus with this lesson learned I began to open up more to the program and  enjoy being there and feel like I belong in this program. So, even when you feel like you  don't belong here, or that the other people here are smarter than you, remember that only  one of you exists, and you are incredibly special in your own ways, that every single  Explorer’s is here because they deserve to be here. It might feel overwhelming the first  couple of days, but I assure you that everyone is incredibly nice, and you will learn a lot from this program. 

One of Alicia Morales’s slides on Imposter Syndrome 


During my stay at Fred Hutch was also my first time working inside a wet lab, and one of my  most memorable experiments was a PCR test, or Polymerase Chain Reaction. This  process is used to amplify or multiply small DNA samples for detailed study on said DNA.  There are 3 major stages of a PCR cycle.  The first is called Denaturation, which is when you are separating the strands of DNA into two using thermal cycling, a cycle that turns the  heat up to precisely 95C for the strands to separate and ready for replication. The next  stage is called Annealing; this is when in the thermal cycling, it cools down to 48-72C for  Primers to attach to the DNA. Primers are molecules that attach themselves to the strands  of DNA. These Primers are complementary to the strands of DNA and will give the DNA  Polymerase way to construct onto the Primers. The final step of PCR is Extension, this is  when polymerase builds the DNA using primer as its starting point and reconstruct the  DNA strands to be identical to its original strands before separation. Most often polymerases that are used in PCR are Taq polymerase, due to its heat resistance  capabilities that helps it during thermal cycling, as this stage of PCR stays consistently at  72C. In our personal experiment we used SYBR Safe gel stains that illuminate in the dark to identify if the PCR process was correct. 

Above me is a picture of the PCR product, on the left is the DNA with SYBR Safe, and on the  right a negative control that helps us see if the PCR process was successful or not. 


Fred Hutch is a cancer research center that focuses on finding cures and treatment to all  type of cancers, and during my stay at the Explorer’s program I’ve also learn that Fred  Hutch not only does cancer research, but research of all sorts of sciences. One lecture that  really stood out to me was Structural Biology by Dr.Barry Stoddard and his studies of  making 3D models of protein using x-ray crystallography, and how with his research he can then use it to create engineered proteins to make treatments and therapies for diseases  like cancer. He also made a book that talks about his really interesting journey to the Soviet  Union for scientific research, 100% recommend you check it out. 

The book by Dr.Barry Stoddard

 

 

 

 

 

 

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page