top of page

Geethika Burugupally

When I first heard about the Fred Hutch Research Explorers Program, I was a student with a deep curiosity about science but limited experience beyond the classroom. I had always been very interested in being able to do cutting-edge research, but wasn't quite sure where to start.


The first day I walked into Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center was overwhelming. It was a mix of excitement and nervousness for me as a student.


The program began with an orientation session, where the structure of the program was introduced to us and our mentors. One of the highlights in my experience was directly working in the laboratory. I remember my very first day of laboring advanced laboratory equipment. The first time I worked with micropipettes, it was definitely a new experience, but I got used to it after practice. I did some sample preparations, ran experiments, and analyzed data with my lab bench partner. It was exciting to see how theoretical aspects I learned at school were applied in research. I also really enjoyed working with specific tools that I had only been able to understand through research articles, such as CRISPR-Cas9. This was especially eye opening as our mentors not only taught us how to use these tools effectively but also how and why they work. The CRISPR lab especially helped me understand how it works: 


Guide RNA: A short RNA sequence is designed to match the DNA you want to edit.

Cas9 Enzyme: This enzyme acts like molecular scissors that can cut DNA.

Targeting: The guide RNA binds to the target DNA sequence, and the Cas9 enzyme cuts the DNA at that specific spot.

Editing: Once the DNA is cut, the cell tries to repair it. Scientists can either disable a gene or insert new genetic material during this repair process.

Caption: this is gel electrophoresis from the spot CML lab to determine whether patients had AML (Acute myeloid leukemia) using blood samples 


Workshops and Seminars

This program included various workshops and seminars, including some labs which we visited, that gave detailed explanations regarding different aspects of medical research. Specifically, I really enjoyed the genetic research seminar where the latest developments on technologies were shared. It was quite amazing to see how these technologies may one day change treatment options for a wide range of diseases. These sessions were not only informative, with a great depth of information on the scientific problems and innovations that are changing medicine, but inspiring as well. One seminar that I particularly enjoyed was about the use of liquid biopsy for cancer patients. I really enjoyed this seminar because it introduced me to a foreign yet exciting method of cancer diagnosis. Additionally, it made me realize the importance of cancer prognosis as it could be a determining factor in whether a patient will go into remission.  


Relationship Building and Networking

Probably the most important thing I gained from the Research Explorers Program was developing relationships with professionals in the field. Outside of my mentor, I got to network with researchers and discuss what the future holds for cancer research and treatment. This gave me insights into the ways through which one can pursue their career in science and how it helps bring medical knowledge forward.


Reflection of the Experience

As the time came for me to leave the Fred Hutch Research Explorers Program, I reflected back; I had learned a lot. The hands-on experience, workshops, and mentorship strengthened both my understanding of medical research and my passion toward pursuing this career in science. I stand assured now that I will be able to make meaningful contributions toward any meaningful research and am excited about the possibilities ahead.



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page