top of page

Edom Alemayehu


Me & Dalya working with CRISPR & Micropipetting in the lab


During my time at the Hutch, I've gained many valuable experiences and exposure to the  lab environment. Not only was the educational aspect of the program valuable, but the  networking and connections built with my peers. Walking into the program, I had the goal of  learning the "why" behind a cancer diagnosis. What causes a cell to exhibit behaviors that  characterize it as cancer? How do treatments counteract this cancerous behavior? These  questions remained in the back of my mind throughout the program, allowing me to make the  most of the resources we were given. On the very first day of the program, my question  received a brief answer as we looked at the story of a former cancer patient at the Hutch named  Kristen. Throughout the two-week explorer's program, we deepened our understanding of her  case study, focusing on how her immune cells were genetically engineered to kill her leukemia  cancer cells. Of the many cancer treatments we learned during our program, this specific  process of genetically engineering her T cells gained my attention.  

Now, going back to the question that still lingered in my head... how? Narrowing this  complex process down, CAR T-cell therapy, which achieved a 93% remission rate in Kristen’s  trial, involves extracting a patient’s T cells, genetically modifying them to target cancer cells, and  then reinfusing them. This personalized approach enhances the T cells’ ability to recognize and  attack specific cancer cells. This treatment has a significant impact on the immune system’s  ability to fight cancer, often leading to exceptional outcomes in patients who have not responded  to conventional treatments such as chemotherapy. In Kristin's case, she had previously  undergone Chemotherapy where she went into remission, however her cancer reappeared 1.5  years later. Learning that her CAR T cell therapy put her in complete remission interested me in  the power of genetic engineering in cancer treatment. If current treatment is as effective as it  was in the clinical trial, I can’t begin to imagine what possible applications might happen in the 

future! We ourselves got the chance to experiment with a specific kind of gene editing tool  known as CRISPR. 

Before the Explorers program, I wasn’t aware of such advanced treatment. Once I was  introduced to this new knowledge however, I became heavily engaged and eager to learn more.  I’m beyond grateful for the opportunity to be part of an amazing cohort! Every moment was  exciting and left me with new insights, whether it was gaining new lab experiences with my lab  partners or simply sitting in the cafeteria with my peers. The program was truly an unforgettable  experience that I will carry with me wherever I go next and has provided me with a strong  foundation for further exploration in this field! 


Lunch Table!

 

 

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page