top of page

Dalya Obaid

My name is Dalya Obaid I am 16 years old and in the last 2 weeks, I've had the opportunity to explore the Fred Hutch campus, meeting various people and learning about their research. When I applied I told myself not to get my hopes up since I thought my chances of being accepted into this program were meager. However to my surprise, I received an email on April 30th, and the email started with, “Congratulations” after reading that one word I felt immense relief. Every night I would remind my parents of how many more days until this internship started, from the moment I stepped foot into this building I felt an indescribable feeling. I loved talking to everyone in my cohort and listening to all the guest speakers. Barry Stoddard came to  speak about his experience working with proteins, he then told us about a story where he was hired to work with the Soviet Union to grow protein crystals in SPACE. After hearing his story I went home and told my mom, dad, sister, little sister, and cousin. I was so amazed by the people who work at Fred Hutch and their stories. Throughout the program, I kept thinking to myself about how I shouldn't be in this program because everyone else is much more accomplished than me. That is when Alicia Morales came to give us a talk on imposter syndrome, the talk changed my view on so many things. I connected very deeply with her story and she helped me realize that I achieve things because I deserve them. At the Hutch everyone's voice and ideas are valued and taken into account. I loved seeing the community that Fred Hutch has established. After these 2 weeks, I have made many new relationships and friendships that I will forever cherish.

(A group of us touring the Steam Plant, this picture was taken on the rooftop (all the buildings have amazing views of Elliot Bay). We then went to visit our TA Elana Thieme’s lab.)

(Gel electrophoresis results of the different dyes densities/ charges)


One of the first labs that we conducted was a gel electrophoresis lab, this was where we micro-pipetted several dyes into the wells. Before the lab, we calculated which dyes would go to the negative side, which ones would go to the positive side and which ones would go farther or stay back. We filmed a time-lapse of the dyes moving and then compared them with our initial calculations.


(PCR Lab, making copies of the B2M gene) 


This picture is from our PCR lab, the goal was to make the same copy of a gene/section. If the liquid glows then your PCR was made correctly. To see it glow we went into the dark room which was super cool since it was pitch black, it made the PCR visible. 


(Inserting our patient samples into the gel wells)


(PCR Lab with patient samples, the first well has the ladder, the second and third wells have positive controls, and the third well has negative control. The next three wells have the patient samples.)


All the labs we conducted at Fred Hutch helped me understand a lot of concepts the Fred Hutch researches. This whole experience opened my eyes to a possible career I would like to pursue. Before visiting the Fred Hutch campus I always thought of research as a very closed-off work environment that included spending most of your day sitting in front of a computer or working alone at a lab bench. Though Fred Hutch has proven me wrong I saw so much collaboration between researchers and doctors and it was the opposite of lonely, instead, it was one of the most lively organizations I’ve ever been to. I leave Fred Hutch wanting to learn more and get more exposure to research. These 2 weeks have shaped me into a completely different person with greater interests and more questions!

(My lab partner and I taking pictures of our micropipettes) 


(Vivian and I won Hundred Grand’s for successfully sorting male and female flies)


( In this picture I am creating an art piece for an Art Lab)


(This picture was taken while we were writing these blogs!!)


(This picture was taken on a digital camera!)


Thank you to everyone who was involved in making this such a magical experience for us. Thank you to our TA’s Arjun and Elana for taking the time to explain things in the lab (and for having patience when we messed up in the lab). Not only am I sad that this program has come to an end but I am beyond excited for the future and what other opportunities Fred Hutch has to offer.


(2024 Session 2 Fred Hutch Explorers ON! TOP!)


Lastly a huge thank you to Dr. Goode. I’m sure this entire cohort can agree that you transformed this program for us and made it fun! You’re such a role model and I would like to become someone like you in the future.


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Bình luận


bottom of page