top of page

Citlally Oliver

During my two weeks at Fred Hutch, I got to experience the works and stories of many researchers from many fields of science and got to learn about the history of diseases and the process of hoping to cure them. My personal favorite of all the things that I learned about was syphilis disease. The syphilis disease interested me because of its racial history with creating a medicine. What I mean by “creating a medicine” is that in Alabama researchers withheld the cure for Syphilis while experimenting in the Black Man. The reasoning of this is that white researchers believed that Syphilis affects the Black Man differently than it does to the white Man.

One activity that I found particularly engaging, is the Pipette Art activity. Just learning how to hold and use a Pipette was very fun, as I have never used one before.

Picture of my pipette Art (It’s supposed to be a dog)


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page