top of page

Carmen Tran

Updated: Aug 30, 2019

From my first grade science classes where we’d watch butterflies grow to my high school science classes where I learned about Newton's Law and mitosis, every little bit of law and scientific concepts taught to me would change my perspective of not only science but of the world overall. A table was no longer simply standing there, but it was there because of many balanced forces acting upon it. This process was the same when I learned about bioethics. In school I was taught about science but never the good and bad of this extensive field. However, this was quickly changed my perspective of science from being just chemistry, biology, and physics we were taught the Biomedical Ethical Principles.


The principle is based off of three main components. The first being Respect for Persons. This highlights the most important factor: everyone has inherent dignity and worth, this ensures that the person has autonomy, the right to make their own decisions. As well as informed consent where everyone understands what they are being involved in. The second is considering how to maximize benefits while minimizing harms. Similarity known as “first do no harm”. The final aspect is justice. How can one distribute the burden and the benefits equally? What is fair and what isn’t? Though these are the main parts to the principal, Biomedical Ethical Principles must also consider the importance of relationships and critical ethics which identifies whose intentions are being served.


The case study we used to understand these principles was “A BRCA Genetic Testing Dilemma” where a family with a history of a mutated BRCA 1 gene decides whether or not they want to take the test. However, after listening to this lecture, I found myself applying this new principle of Biomedical Ethics into topics other than cancer such as organ donation and eugenics. Later that night it occurred to me why this was such an eye-opening topic for me, I had never been taught about the ethics of science in any of my classes but rather the facts. This has completely changed the way I approach science as it taught me to think beyond my experience and who it might affect in the long run as well how I approach others.


As my session of the Explorer’s program comes to an end, my peers and I will move on from this amazing opportunity with not only a high understanding of scientific techniques but also a new understanding of scientific morals. I know for sure that my peers and I will support and encourage each other throughout our continued exploration of the magnificent world of science. With that, I want to thank you my Explorers friends, mentors, and scientists I met along the way who have truly changed my perspective of science.





0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page